• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Clients dropping like flies

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2000 Firewall] >> Firewall Client >> Clients dropping like flies Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Clients dropping like flies - 19.Feb.2003 5:47:00 PM   
todd-beaulieu

My problem is that the clients keep losing their connection to the Firewall. The icon appears in the tray, and they have no internet access. Rebooting sometimes fixes it, as does simply waiting. It comes and goes all over the network. Stations that were working, aren't now, and visa-versa. Sometimes they come up and can't find the Server, but after a wait suddenly find it.

I'm an ISA rookie, so it might be something stupid that I did, relating to something like DNS or DHCP on the network. This is not my primary line of work; I'm a developer.

It's a small network of about 15 - 20 workstations. They're a mix of 95, 98x, XP and 2000. It's a real basic setup: DSL comes into a small router (which I've been having LOTs of issues in this mix...should I eliminate it?). It then goes into the 2000 box with ISA. Out the second NIC goes the internal network to the hubs and then onto the stations. There are no routers internally; all clients are on the same subnet (192...).

I have DHCP enabled on the 2000 box for the internal network. All workstations are configured to obtain their settings automatically. The Server's IPs are hard-coded and excluded from the pool. DHCP is disabled on the router.

I tried having them put the IP into the firewall client and hit UPDATE, but they said it just comes back with the server name.

I'm about to disable the client and experiment with either "auto detect" in IE or hard-code the proxy information.