• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

ISA 2006 behind a PIX 506

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA 2006 General] >> Installation and Planning >> ISA 2006 behind a PIX 506 Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
ISA 2006 behind a PIX 506 - 10.Nov.2006 6:40:10 AM   
bwillis

Hi All
I am just about to attempt the setup of an ISA 2006 Firewall behind a Cisco Pix 506 any advice welcome.  Can I have the ISA Server cards on the same network or should I have them on different networks?

Any advice welcome I am a complete novice at this and have got Mr T's book but not had time to read it yet!!
Post #: 1
RE: ISA 2006 behind a PIX 506 - 10.Nov.2006 8:54:44 AM   
x102020

http://forums.isaserver.org/m_2002027075/mpage_2/key_/tm.htm#2002030722

That's the thread I started on a firewall very similar to the PIX you are using.

Your PIX needs to be on a different network than your internal network.

Example:

Your PIX could have:
IP: 192.168.1.1

And your ISA External NIC would then be:
IP: 192.168.1.2 (as long as its in the same subnet)

Then your ISA Internal NIC would be:
IP: 192.168.2.1 (whatever you want your internal network to be)

You'll want to make sure that your ISA server has a rule to allow DNS (assuming your doing DNS forwards).

If your PIX has dhcp enabled on it like my Sonicwall did, you'll want to setup your dhcp somewhere on your internal network.