• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Need help planning an ISA2K6 EE implementation

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA 2006 General] >> Installation and Planning >> Need help planning an ISA2K6 EE implementation Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Need help planning an ISA2K6 EE implementation - 5.Oct.2006 1:35:38 AM   
rmbell34

Hello.  I am new to this site and am really impressed (and overwhelmed!) with all the great information available on this site.  I am fairly new to network security and want to learn both Cisco PIX and Microsoft ISA technologies.  I am currently building a sandbox.  My initial plan is to have it consist of 3 servers.  I will have one on the LAN acting as my domain controller, I will have one on my LAN acting as a web server, and I will have one on my edge acting as the ISA server. My current plans for the design of the architecture are this:

1) I will have two NICs on the ISA server.  One will connect to my 2610 router, the other NIC will connect to a switch on my internal network.

2) I will not use a DMZ.  I plan on running the web server inside my ISA firewall with initial rules set up to only allow inbound 80 and 443 traffic to the web server IP.  I will probably add more ports later on for remote access and such.

3) According to some of the articles that Dr. Shinder has written here I think I will not run DNS on the ISA server, but will join it to the domain, and have it point to an internal DNS server for name resoultion.  DHCP will be set up on the internal network and not run on the ISA server.  I will also have the ISA server external NIC on a separate subnet than the private network.