• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Two Internet Gateways

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA 2006 General] >> Installation and Planning >> Two Internet Gateways Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Two Internet Gateways - 22.Mar.2007 3:38:38 PM   
tvmo

Hello

You'll have to excuse me if I'm a little naive, I'm pretty new to ISA.

I'm involved in a project to set up two ISA Server 2006 servers in an array. We have two Internet gateways guarded by two front-end Cisco PIX firewalls. The idea is to keep the PIX firewalls as front-end firewalls and the ISA array will be the back-end firewall/proxy.

Is there anyway that the two Internet gateways could be utilised in this scenario for load-balancing/resilience?

Be gentle with me.

Thanks
Post #: 1
RE: Two Internet Gateways - 1.Apr.2007 11:55:18 AM   
tshinder

Does pix have any intelligence built in that supports NLB like functionality?

Tom

Thomas W Shinder, M.D.

(in reply to tvmo)
Post #: 2
RE: Two Internet Gateways - 4.Apr.2007 1:38:51 PM   
cbuechler

Sounds like they have two separate Internet connections with two separate PIX firewalls. If that's indeed the case, first I would put both Internet connections on a single perimeter router, make the PIX's a failover pair, or active/active cluster if on PIX OS 7.0, configure whatever load balancing or specific routing is desired on the perimeter router, and install ISA as if it were a single Internet connection.