• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Windows Authentication Problems

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Cache] >> General >> Windows Authentication Problems Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Windows Authentication Problems - 10.Jul.2006 10:58:11 PM   
jleighton84

Let me just preface by saying I am fairly new to ISA in general.  I've been doing windows administration for 5 years, but ISA is new territory for me.  I have looked through these forums and pretty much all over, but have not found an answer that specifically addresses my problem.  So here it is:

I'm running ISA 2004 with a single NIC.  I set it up according the the Technet article outlining a single-NIC install.  Proxy works well and most of my rules for web and content blocking work just fine.  The exception here is any rule that I am relying on user groups for the condition.  I am trying to add an an access rule that will allow specific users to send/receive IM traffic.  I have a rule setup to ALLOW all IM protocols from Internal and Local Host to Internal that are a member of this group.  When I look at the firewall logs, it shows the request as coming from Anonymous.  Am I missing something when it comes to passing the integrated Windows authentication to ISA?  I should also mention that I am not using the Firewall client.  Is this an absolute must?  Or can the authentication be sent without it? 

Thanks!
Post #: 1
RE: Windows Authentication Problems - 11.Jul.2006 5:26:30 PM   
tshinder

Hi J,

Why single NIC? That's what we call "hork mode" around here. That's why you see little guidance on this site for that config.

Thanks!
Tom

Thomas W Shinder, M.D.

(in reply to jleighton84)
Post #: 2