• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Firewall client really needed for gaming?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2000 Misc.] >> Gaming >> Firewall client really needed for gaming? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Firewall client really needed for gaming? - 14.Apr.2003 12:37:00 AM   
UncleJimbo

Hi all,

You'll have to excuse me... I'm a relative newbie at ISA Server although I've learnt tons over the past few days.

Basically I'm running ISA server at home - I'm planning on taking some MS qualifications and figured it would be a good product to learn.

Anyway... online gaming:

I notice a lot of games and other products such as MSN Messenger (file transfer) require the Firewall client. Well I have a few questions I hope you can help me with...

1. What is the difference between the Firewall client and the SecureNAT client? Is the Firewall client the program that gets put on the \mspclnt file share when you install ISA?

2. Why do I need the firewall client to run games and certain apps when other apps (general MSN Messenger use, web browsing, etc...) don't require it?

3. Do I *have* to use the Firewall client or can I configure ISA any other way? Personally I don't like the idea of installing a client on every machine on a LAN that wants to run a certain app.

4. Would some kind of DMZ help side-step needing a Firewall client?

Please... tell me if I'm wrong, but other firewalls don't require client software to use app.

I really hope you can answer these questions for me and help me understand ISA a bit better.

While you're here, if anyone has got Rainbow Six 3: Ravenshield to work i'd love to hear from you "[Smile]"
Post #: 1