feature requests for ISA 2007(?) (Full Version)

All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Misc.] >> ISA Server 2004 Wish List

sweisler -> feature requests for ISA 2007(?) (3.Jan.2006 5:42:22 PM)

I have been using and implementing ISA 2004 for the last 12-15 months.  Having over half a dozen implementations of ISA 2004 Standard under my belt, I have found ISA 2004 to be an excellent firewall product.  It is an excellent full-duty firewall, not just an application specific firewall (OWA, Exchange, WWW, FTP, etc.), as some people insist on limiting it to.  It is easy to configure and easy to understand, and I love the application filtering capabilities that push it above and beyond the stateful inspection-only products.

However, I have noticed a few short-comings that have limited my ability to fully deploy the product in some environments, leading to split-gateway situations where ISA is running parallel with another firewall device, such as PIX.  Most importantly, I believe Microsoft's monolithic approach of designing ISA 2004 to publish everything behind a single IP address is unrealistic.

Case 1 - publishing a DNS Server behind an alternate IP address - Inbound traffic to the DNS server is handled properly.  But because outbound traffic from the DNS server is NATed behind the default (and unchangeable) main IP address of the external NIC on the ISA firewall, the update notifications to other servers appear to come from a different external IP address than the one the server is published on.  This makes zone transfers a kluged-up nightmare.

Case 2 - publishing a polycom videoconferencing system behind an alternate IP address - same problem as the DNS server above with the NATed outbound traffic, plus the added problem of secondary connections being initiated from both ends once the primary connection is established.  I ended up having to put in a PIX 501 here, just so I could get a simple 1:1 static NAT.