• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Can't publish servers

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 General ] >> Web Publishing >> Can't publish servers Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Can't publish servers - 23.Mar.2006 5:09:27 AM   
tomyergs

I'm relatively new to ISA Server 2004 so I may be completely misunderstanding what it is capable of, but I hope not.

I'm trying to publish some servers (DNS, FTP, etc) from our DMZ to the outside.

I go through the server publishing wizard and configure ISA to listen on a specific external interface.  I set it to forward to the server I wish to publish.

Honestly, it just doesn't work. It works great for web servers, but anything else, it does not work at all.

I'm baffled.

Please help! :-)

Thanks,
Tom
Post #: 1
RE: Can't publish servers - 23.Mar.2006 4:01:20 PM   
tshinder

Hi Tom,

Are the published servers configured as SecureNAT clients?

Thanks!
Tom

Thomas W Shinder, M.D.

(in reply to tomyergs)
Post #: 2
RE: Can't publish servers - 23.Mar.2006 10:41:55 PM   
tomyergs

No, they're not SecureNAT clients.  Our network is managed by our corporate parent and we have a packet filtering firewall in place that they manage.  We set up ISA mainly to more securely publish web sites to the internet, and it has been doing a great job of it.

Now I'd like to expand that to other protocols, esp. protecting our DNS server.

So basically the architecture I'm shooting for is:

Internet -> External IP -> NAT firewall -> internal IP ISA firewall -> inspect packet -> forward to DNS server (Linux/BIND)

Is this possible to do?

Thanks!

Tom

(in reply to tshinder)
Post #: 3
RE: Can't publish servers - 24.Mar.2006 2:45:37 AM   
ClintD