ISA 2004 web cache only (Full Version)

All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Cache] >> General

CRM250 -> ISA 2004 web cache only (28.Mar.2006 5:34:13 PM)

Hi all, am after some advice please and after doing some searching i get mixed reports to thought i would pop the question.
I am currently running ISA2000 as a web cache only and i am finding its performance rather testing.
I am licenced to run 2004 and need some advice.
I would like to run 2004 as a web cache only, not interested in any sort of publishing or a half attempt at security (use hardware routers which i know better and trust, they work for me)
The hardware will be a single NIC DL380 but can add another NIC or even 2 if needed. it would be good to be able to force browsing down my leased line and perhaps use a ADSL connection as a failover.
Can this be actually done with 2004 ? or am i fighting a losing battle.
Help would be appreicated i have little experience with ISA and while it currently works as a cache, thats more by fluke than knowledge.
Now if it was exchange or mimesweeper then things would be quite different.
thanks in advance

tmorton -> RE: ISA 2004 web cache only (28.Mar.2006 6:25:53 PM)

Are you looking for additional performance from the server by upgrading to 2004?
I am not really sure that the upgrade to 2004 alone will provide that. Have you looked and performance monitor to
determine where the bottle necks are?

As for using ISA as a web cache only in a unihomed configuration I think that you will find Tom's guide to be a valuable resource. I would recommend that you read through that and then ask any additional questions you may have.

It is locate here

HTH
Ty Morton

cwr -> RE: ISA 2004 web cache only (29.Mar.2006 12:18:39 AM)

tom's guide? is that in his book or .. ?

CRM250 -> RE: ISA 2004 web cache only (29.Mar.2006 9:30:31 AM)