• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

L2TP CA + pre-shared key concurrent use

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Firewall] >> VPN >> L2TP CA + pre-shared key concurrent use Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
L2TP CA + pre-shared key concurrent use - 12.Jul.2006 6:16:10 PM   
floris

Hi all, I am quite new to ISA and I have a question about L2TP VPN and the concurrent use of certificates and pre-shared keys.

In our current setup we have successfully configured ISA 2004 to allow incoming VPN clients. The clients use certificates for authentication. Clients can succesfully setup a VPN connection and become part of our HQ network.

I need to now setup a branch office ISA 2004 server and need to connect to HQ using a ISA S2S L2TP connection - HOWEVER I want to use pre-shared keys to create this connection.
I setup the S2S VPN following the excellent ISA2004 VPN Dep. Kit document but I cannot get the ISA server in HW to connect to the branch office server. The "only" error message I get on the HQ server is:
"A Demand Dial connection to the remote interface HQ-2-Branch on port VPN4-8 was successfully initiated but failed to complete successfully because of the  following error: The L2TP connection attempt failed because security negotiation timed out."

I have gone through all of the settings and as far as I can see, they are OK, the only issue that comes to mind is that the current VPN setup for dial-in VPN clients uses RADIUS and certificates while I only want to use the pre-shared key.

Can someone shed some much needed light on this? I am more than happy to provide more details on the setup if required.

Many thanks!

Floris
Post #: 1