• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Design Planning Help

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA 2006 General] >> Installation and Planning >> Design Planning Help Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Design Planning Help - 22.Jan.2007 11:33:46 AM   
Cuzmarc

I have the privilege of getting to do a complete Proof of Concept Microsoft lab using only ISA 2006 for the firewall/protection solution. I am relatively new to ISA and I have been reading through these forums, which has an immense amount of information. I am going for all new technologies and will be using Exchange 2007 with OWA, SharePoint 2007 portal and a website, all of which need to be published securely using ONLY ISA 2006. One main requirement is two factor authentication. I have access to RSA for this lab if needed but I would like to try and do this without if it can be done securely.
The lab has a beefy physical box to use for the ISA firewall and two high end servers which will be housing the Domain in a virtual environment. This will be only used by a test bed of users at most 20 people.
I have a few questions regarding the design which I am hoping the community can help me out with.
Can I accomplish this securely using a Single ISA server joined to the domain or do I need to do a front end back end solution?
If I need to use the front-end back-end solution should the front-end server be a domain member or not? I have read the articles and even the thread where Tom says his front end is not a domain member so I am not sure on the best approach to this.  
For the design I was thinking of edge firewall on the physical box (ISA) DMZ Backend ISA (virtual) Domain