• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Where to put my web servers?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA 2006 Publishing] >> Web Publishing >> Where to put my web servers? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Where to put my web servers? - 28.Jul.2008 1:23:06 PM   
stevenjatkinson

Hello all...

I am very new to web site hosting (which you will probably pick up from my post).

I have a few questions about where to place web servers in our organisation.  We have the following requirements -
  • Scenario 1 - Internal and external users accessing web site from internal network and external network
  • Scenario 2 - Internal users accessing web site from internal network only.
  • Scenario 3 - External users accessing web site from external network.
Scenario 1 - We would have the web site on web servers in the DMZ - is it okay for internal users to access the web site in the DMZ?  or should the web site in the DMZ only be used by external users? - and we make a copy for internal users on an internal web site?
Scenario 2 - I understand that we could put this on the internal network - but could this be put in the DMZ (even though no external users will access?)  What is the recommended approach?  are there any best practices?
Scenario 3 - Again web site in the DMZ...

I guess i am rambling on a bit - what i am trying to ask is - is it better to have all your web servers in the DMZ even though in some scenarios only internal users will be using the web site?  Is it recommended to go from internal network to DMZ?

For information - we have appliance firewalls and ISA 2006 for authentication - we also have a small AD in the DMZ for extranet users.

Thanks in advance.
Post #: 1