• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Proxying FTP (Newbie Question)

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Threat Management Gateway (TMG) 2010] >> General >> Proxying FTP (Newbie Question) Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Proxying FTP (Newbie Question) - 6.Jul.2012 10:24:56 AM   
mpascucci

We're currently proxying web traffic HTTP and HTTPS through our TMG 2010 setup. I was wondering how you go about proxying FTP or any other protocol for that matter through the TMG? I'm somewhat new to TMG and I was trying to get a better understanding of how this works and how to set it up with other protocols.

I see where it states the port enabled for HTTP traffic, but I can't seem to find where the HTTPS traffic port (if it needs it) or places to start proxying other protocols.

Thanks again.
Post #: 1
RE: Proxying FTP (Newbie Question) - 9.Jul.2012 7:21:56 AM   
dvizzle

If you add the FTP protocol to your access rules you will start proxying it.

Remember, your default rule is to block all, so if you do not specify a rule allowing it under some circumstance, it will fail.

(in reply to mpascucci)
Post #: 2
RE: Proxying FTP (Newbie Question) - 9.Jul.2012 8:54:04 AM   
mpascucci

@dvizzle - Thanks, I eventually figured this out after looking at it for a while. Last question - Does FTP or any protocol for that matter use the same communication port as HTTP to communicate to the proxy or do you need to have this configured somewhere else?

(in reply to mpascucci)
Post #: 3
RE: Proxying FTP (Newbie Question) - 9.Jul.2012 9:47:09 AM   
dvizzle

The default protocol port is 21. If you use a different port, you can create a custom protocol and define the port, then use that custom protocol in your rules.

(in reply to mpascucci)