• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Web filtering - different from the others

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2000 General] >> General >> Web filtering - different from the others Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Web filtering - different from the others - 14.Dec.2004 9:29:00 PM   
Hi all,

Im sorry if this is posted in the wrong section but im after a bit of guidance.

Im an IT manager for secondary school in the UK for about 1000+ pupils plus teachers. We have always had a problem of pupils accessing websites theyt shouldnt be during lessons times and after school in homework clubs etc.

We have a windows 2000 server with ISA 2000 (Sp2) installed. Recently we had an incident which had the police involved so we decided it was time to purchase some better filtering software, we have been looking at a product called Ranger Remote control (Web Site ) and NetOp School. ( Web Site )
Both of these products do what we are looking for which i will explain later. The only down fall with these products is they need to run an application on all the machines i want to control access too.

What im trying to acheive is this, We have about 10 computer rooms each with approx 30 student PCs. these rooms are bookable so many different children can enter these rooms through out the day and access the internet. We would like to block all websites for a particular room and only allow a predefined list of approved websites. But the ability to unblock individual PCs rather than users, the children have figured out they can logon as other pupils!