• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Firewall] >> Access Policies >> Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger - 16.Mar.2004 12:13:00 AM   
jamesmackinnon

I am new to ISA and when I go with it on my network, I can't until 2004 comes out because I have more internal networks then what according to what I have read that ISA 2000 supports, Anyhow, My other desire to go with ISA 2004 is to block Kazaa and MSN Messenger.

I ideally, want to do this on the firewall without clients on the PC's because we don't run a client secure setup and our users have admin access on their systems so restricting access to a exe based on name can be renamed and launched busting that function..

Anyhow, both of these go out over port 80 if default not available..

I plan to only permit 80, 443 available to internet from client systems but need to kill these 2 apps.

Suggestions??
Post #: 1
RE: Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger - 16.Mar.2004 2:24:00 AM   
Lambera

block msn by creating an access policy using the predefind msn rule and setting it to deny. You can sniff the traffic with netmon or ethereal and find the headers generated with those programs and deny based on headers.

(in reply to jamesmackinnon)
Post #: 2
RE: Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger - 16.Mar.2004 10:59:00 AM   
tshinder

Hey guys,

Kazaa is a particular pernicious application. I spent several hours with NetMon last week trying to figure out how to block it, and its not easy. It will be more simple with the access policy to allow only TCP 80 and TCP 443 outbound.

Tom

Post #: 3
RE: Block Kazaa and MSN Messenger - 17.Mar.2004 3:30:00 PM