Welcome to ISAserver.org
Forums |
Register |
Login |
My Profile |
Inbox |
RSS
|
My Subscription |
My Forums |
Address Book |
Member List |
Search |
FAQ |
Ticket List |
Log Out
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking
|
Users viewing this topic:
none
|
Logged in as: Guest
|
Login | |
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 7.Jun.2005 7:54:00 AM
|
|
|
ISA_NL
Posts: 15
Joined: 26.May2005
Status: offline
|
I have made a new script which will import all those sites into a destination set, i will post it in a while
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 7.Jun.2005 11:09:00 AM
|
|
|
jpineau
Posts: 4
Joined: 1.Jun.2005
From: Gorham, ME USA
Status: offline
|
I have four categories of blocked sites on our ISA Server 2004 using the blocklists downloaded from the article discussed above.
If a match is found the user is redirected to a custom web page describing why it was blocked.
However we have a search site (metacrawler.com)that doesn't appear in any of these blocked lists that is being blocked. ISA is redirecting the user to the Adult Content and Porngraphy page.
Where I am not finding any matches in my block lists how do I determine what is causing it to be blocked?
JP
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 7.Jun.2005 12:40:00 PM
|
|
|
jpineau
Posts: 4
Joined: 1.Jun.2005
From: Gorham, ME USA
Status: offline
|
I found the answer to my blocked site issue. I did a ping of www.metacrawler.com to obtain the ip address. I then used Kloth.net to do an nslookup of the ip address. The resolution went through a couple sites within infospace.com. There is an entry for *infospace.com in the porn deny list. I removed that entry and metacrawler is working again.
Another entry just below that was *infoworld.com which is an IT web site I regularly visit.
The fact that these block lists are free brings to mind - you get what you pay for. More importantly you may find other legitimate sites in the lists that will get weeded out over time as users complain about not being able to get to specific sites.
JP
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 13.Jun.2005 4:33:00 PM
|
|
|
ISA_NL
Posts: 15
Joined: 26.May2005
Status: offline
|
The blocklist doesnt work very well in isa2004,
When you have blocked for example Http://porn.com You r blocked , but when you tyope www.porn.com you r redirected to the site.
Does a site like this work : Http://*.*porn*.*
Does this block everything with porn inside?
How do i do this.
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 4.Oct.2005 9:42:00 AM
|
|
|
Guest
|
Any 1 got this to work in ISA 2000?
Please supply details.
Thanks
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 20.Dec.2005 5:15:40 PM
|
|
|
tlj
Posts: 2
Joined: 20.Dec.2005
Status: offline
|
When i try to install this in ISA 2004 EE, i get an error saying: "The file being importing can only be imported to an array node.". The error code is 0xc00403b6 However my array is set up and works well. This looks similar to an issue earlier in the thread. Any solutions?
_____________________________
If you get paid, its not a hobby, STOP WHINING....
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 31.Jan.2006 5:32:12 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
I get the below error when I try to import , how can I fix it? he file being importing can only be imported to an array node. The error occurred on object 'URLSets' of class 'URL Sets' in the scope of array 'W2K3-ISA'.
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 11.Feb.2006 3:45:01 AM
|
|
|
myisaserver
Posts: 1
Joined: 11.Feb.2006
Status: offline
|
hello....i've done all the steps in this articell.....http://forums.isaserver.org/m_250070100/mpage_2/tm.htm but..suprisely i cannot access all other websites...anybody can tell me why did this happened? i need to solve this problem urgently... tq azha
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 17.Feb.2006 11:54:45 PM
|
|
|
mlite44
Posts: 1
Joined: 17.Feb.2006
Status: offline
|
I run across the same problem. Here is the fix, when you type in or import the website name for ex. freeones.com, make sure you have the website name typed in as *freeones.com with NO period thats the trick. Hope this helps.
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 27.Feb.2006 3:46:33 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
Hello tshinder This link you posted is not working? can you please help use with all pending question with step by step instruction, if you have one? I tried many articles on how to import black list but none worked for me, I posted this question many times but still no solution for it. Also trying to block users from searching particualr sites and words, how to make this work? Please guide us and I think this will help everyone as I have seen many post regarding site blocking etc?
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 27.Feb.2006 4:17:15 PM
|
|
|
tshinder
Posts: 47490
Joined: 10.Jan.2001
From: Texas
Status: offline
|
Hi B, Check out the article on using scripts to block Web sites that I did. Search this site for "scripts" and you'll find the article. HTH, Tom
_____________________________
Thomas W Shinder, M.D. Sr. Consultant/Technical Writer Prowess Consulting http://www.prowessconsulting.com/ Blog: http://blogs.isaserver.org/shinder/ GET THE NEW ISA 2006 Book!: http://tinyurl.com/2gpoo8
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 27.Feb.2006 4:19:06 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
This is the error I get when I try to import The file being importing can only be imported to an array node. I am using Enterprise edition of ISA server
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 27.Feb.2006 6:31:20 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
Hi Tshnider, I read the script article and found it helpful, but where can I get list of bad sites and domain. Any good one you are aware of. I just want to use anything I find on google etc. How do I prevent user from searching for bad site [words like porn, sex, virus, etc].
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 2.Mar.2006 3:54:24 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
I found many of them but I get the below error? I will appreciate if you help me to resolve this, I always try myself and do some research before I post something? I did all my home work but it's still not working? Here's the error? I get the below error when I try to import , how can I fix it? he file being importing can only be imported to an array node. The error occurred on object 'URLSets' of class 'URL Sets' in the scope of array 'W2K3-ISA'.
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 2.Mar.2006 4:18:30 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
any one tried to import blaklist.xml in Enterprise edition?
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 30.Apr.2006 6:26:55 AM
|
|
|
nhaajuice
Posts: 15
Joined: 23.Jul.2002
Status: offline
|
I use Enterprise Edition - and of course ran into the warning of importing the blacklist... So what I did was create my own "Blocked URL Set" with 1 url (I used www.whitehouse.com), then I exported what I had just created to an XML file, edited that as well as the blocked.xml file, and simply copy/pasted all the relevant sites to my own XML, saved it, re-imported that.... and it works like a charm.... with no errors/warnings! Hows THAT for a long sentence...
|
|
|
|
RE: Discussion about article on site blocking - 1.May2006 4:43:26 PM
|
|
|
bhavin78
Posts: 429
Joined: 18.Jul.2005
From: USA
Status: offline
|
I was able to import blocklist successfully but, still having the below problem which was posted by someone before? I have the same problem. Take for example the URL "fateback.com". Through the IE you can access the site both by "http://www.fateback.com" and "http://fateback.com". However, by blocking "http://fateback.com" y can still access it by using "http://www.fateback.com" Am i doing something wrong or is it supposed to work like this ? I've tried blocking "http://*.fateback.com" and it works, but is this how it is suppossed to be done ? ps: This doesnt happen only with that address, i've tried it with many on the blocked lists from the article. I also tried to import banned advertisement and it gives me below error? The file cannot be imported. The exported file contains an object of type Domain Name Sets which cannot be imported into an object of type Domain Name Set.
|
|
|
|
New Messages |
No New Messages |
Hot Topic w/ New Messages |
Hot Topic w/o New Messages |
Locked w/ New Messages |
Locked w/o New Messages |
|
Post New Thread
Reply to Message
Post New Poll
Submit Vote
Delete My Own Post
Delete My Own Thread
Rate Posts |
|