• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Some problems/questions about ISA2004 in "Cache only"

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2004 Cache] >> General >> Some problems/questions about ISA2004 in "Cache only" Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Some problems/questions about ISA2004 in "Cache on... - 5.Aug.2004 11:18:00 AM   
istari

Hi there.

My name is Claes and I work as a administrator for a couple of schools here in Sweden. We have recently upgraded one of our schools to windows 2003 and ISA 2004 (previously Win 2000 and ISA 2000). The installations are however on new servers (no upgrades). I have now run into two problems I would love to get some help with.

The setup:
At each school we have three servers. The one runing ISA also runs as a AD-domaincontroller, DNS, WINS, DHCP and File share.
I have set up ISA 2004 with the "single NIC template" (even though the server have 2 nics we only use one) and I have created a new policy wich allows all users & traffic to and from all networks.
The network is divided into 4 VLANs (teachers, students, servers and internet). Students does not have direct access to the internet so they have to connect via the ISA server. We use a Cisco PIX for the Firewall-function and the ISA-server only for proxy and logging.

The Problems:

1. Last year when we used ISA 2000 on Win2k I had setup the ISA in cachemode only and to allow authenticated users only to use the ISA-server. This gave me the control to allow only users in our domain to connect to the internet AND for the usernames of the students to appear in logs and reports.
If i setup my ISA 2004 with a rule that only allows authenticated users (and network services),