• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Firewall Client not passing certain traffic

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2000 Firewall] >> Firewall Client >> Firewall Client not passing certain traffic Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Firewall Client not passing certain traffic - 23.Apr.2002 8:40:00 AM   
luv2chill

Hello all,

I'll start off by admitting I'm a newbie to ISA... I've read Drs. Shinders' book and browsed around this site to solve a lot of my issues, but I've come up against one that I simply can't figure out.

We are running a native Win2k server environment (brand new office and equipment). ISA Server is running by itself on a server in integrated mode, serving a frac T-1 to our internal clients. There are three servers in the domain, all configured as Secure-NAT and working very well. All of the workstations are brand new Dells with Windows XP and the firewall client.

Outgoing internet access on the workstations is great with two exceptions:

1. 99% of streaming media doesn't get through
2. POP3 access to an external mail server just broke yesterday.

I have been battling issue #1 for a week or so without a resolution. #2 just revealed itself yesterday and I've yet to solve that one either. Protocol rules are wide open at this point, and Outlook still returns a "Outlook is unable to contact your default mail server" error. We have an internal exchange 2000 server that is working great.

On the streaming media front, I have not tested RealMedia (and refuse to because I hate the client), but just about any Windows media stream will not work. The client just hangs at the "Connecting to media" stage.