• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Welcome to ISAserver.org

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Could not resolve the server name

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [ISA Server 2000 Firewall] >> Firewall Client >> Could not resolve the server name Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Could not resolve the server name - 18.Sep.2004 8:06:00 AM   
Blake Waycaster

Im a student at a college campus running ISA 2000 on the network and am having problems with my firewall client. When im in my dorm the client gives the error message could not resolve the server name. But when I take my computer down to the IT dept it works and connects just fine. the only difference between the two locations is an HP access security control box

So the connection from the dorm looks like this
Dorm> HPbox> Server> Internet

Now the reason we think that it will work from the IT dept office is because they are bypassing that HPbox and connecting straight to the server.

So the connection from the IT dept ooks like this
ITDept> Server> Internet

Unfourtinately the IT gusy at my school dont have time to mess with it and that leaves me trying to find a solution by myself. Can anyone offer any solution to this? After several packs of cigarets and hours spent online searching for a solution im at the end of my rope. Any help would be greatly appreciated
Post #: 1
RE: Could not resolve the server name - 18.Sep.2004 10:35:00 AM   
spouseele

Hi Blake,

the culprit could well be the HP access security control box. When using the Firewall client, ISA server should have a clear view on the internal network. Applying NAT or filtering between the internal clients and the ISA server will very likely break the the Remote Winsock Protocol (RWSP) used by the firewall client.